h1

Easy does it.

July 8, 2007

Sorry (who am I really apologizing to, honestly?) for the gap in posting, but there has been much chaos in the house lately. My new computer arrived and after fudging around with Vista for a few days I have finally gotten most everything to run. Everquest 2 gave me the most problems, but I wont bother going into them now since I have it running fairly smoothly, except for the “ran out of memory” crash that happens every now and then, I am taking it with a grain of salt; at least I can LOG IN.

Enough of that though, I’ll have an update on EQ2 coming shortly. On to other topics, I highly recommend checking out I Buy Power ( http://www.ibuypower.com ) if you plan on buying a new computer any time soon. It is more or less the same as if you buy each of the components separately and built it yourself, except they do the building and testing for you. This insures that the components work. The only problems I have ran into is having to reinstall the sound card drivers to be compatible with the 5.1 speakers that I ordered with the computer, and the fact that the usb ports on the case itself don’t seem to be working. I really don’t want to worry about that though, and am otherwise VERY happy with the purchase. Along with a new 19′ widescreen LG lcd monitor, my gaming looks and runs better than ever.

Besides fooling around with my new computer I managed to pick up some more xbox 360 games do to the Circuit City clearance sale going on right now, which I found out about at Cheap Ass Gamer ( http://www.cheapassgamer.com ) Cheapy D runs a great site that posts the most up to date sales and best deals on video games, electronics, and other forms of media. He also runs an excellent podcast that I believe I have mentioned before. Anyways back to the sale, I picked up Gun for $16.96 plus tax (which I am about to start playing) along with having Condemned’s price changed to fit the sale (which I bought in June). With the money I received back on Condemned I also picked up Quake 4 since it to was on clearance. For a full list of the games on sale check out the video game deals forum at Cheapassgamer, but be warned, your Circuit City may have already been picked clean. Quake 4 has me especially excited, mainly because it comes packaged with Quake 2 on a bonus disc. Back in the days of my youth, I wasted many hours with friends playing Quake 2 multi player, and while the options are extremely limited on the disc, I am sure playing the single player will bring back some fond memories.

Speaking of Condemned, I managed to beat it last night, and make it through to the end without wetting myself. I still stand by my earlier impression that it is the scariest game I have ever played, and it continued to be all the way until the end. I can safely say that it’s sequel is my most anticipated game right now, and I cannot wait for it! I’m going to save my heart the trouble and set it aside for right now, and start Gun, but some time soon I’ll head back and play through it again to unlock all of the achievements.

Everquest 2 post coming soon, maybe tomorrow. I’m off to crack open some Gun!

Leave a Reply

