h1

So Now What?

September 20, 2006

In an effort to try to keep this blog more about me than just my gaming habit, I’ve decided to discuss something that I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. We’ve had a big career event going on at my college, and had speakers visiting the classes and what not, trying to encourage us to get a head start on filling out resumes and scheduling interviews and the like.

This really got me worried, because throughout my high school, and so far college career I’ve really not done anything. I’ve worked two different retail jobs, and one under the table construction job, but I haven’t done any extracurricular activities. I wasn’t part of any group in school, I never really volunteered my time. So now I am left wondering, do I still have time to make up for these?

It also made me think about the field I am pursuing, and if it is truly what I want to do. I don’t really have any work related experience, which I hope to correct by getting an internship. I’ve just been starting to wonder: What do I really have to offer an employer?

Instead of sitting here typing this up I suppose I should start writing an email to one of those career advisors, and get on the ball, but I don’t know what to say, where to start, or what to ask.

I’ve just decided, that instead of writing multiple posts on my blog today, I am just going to have one long running document of what I am thinking today, because each time I sit down to write, I find myself thinking of two more things I want to say. I’ll end up posting this later, and then realizing I left something out anyways, but oh well..

I just got back from one of my two classes of the day, after taking quiz I wasn’t to confident about. However, I do think I did fairly well, so that makes my day feel better already! One more class to go, and then I have some free time to catch up on some Everquest.

I finished one of my Jack McDevitt books, the Chindi, last night. It was a great read, although it took me forever to finish it, seeing as the only time I ever read is right before I fall asleep. I picked up the next book, Omega, last weekend, and I found out that it was actually part three of a trilogy. (Chindi being the second book). It was never labeled on the Chindi, and the story never let on that you needed to read the first book to have an idea of what was going on, so I don’t know if I am missing anything, or if I should go back and pick up The Engines of God, and read it now instead.

Well this mucks things up even further.. I just read the review for Engines, and found out that while it is the first in the series, the series is NOT a trilogy, but in fact has five books in what is now as the Pricilla Hutchins series. The second book being Deepsix, which is referenced in the Chindi many times, and this makes sense now, Hutch being the main character of the book. I’ve also found out there is another book that takes place after Omega, called Odyssey which will be released in November. http://www.sfwa.org/members/McDevitt/

Now I’m even further flustered, what do you think? Should I start Omega and pick the other books up later, or shall I make an attempt to salvage their order and read the series the way it was meant to be read?

I can’t decide on my own right now, so I am off to take a shower. I guess I can post this now, and if I have to post again today, then oh well I’ll do it!

Leave a Reply

